after engine swap, front end sits higher

Struts, spring, anti-rollbars, braces and the like.

Moderators: Helpinators, Moderators

Project_Legacy
Third Gear

after engine swap, front end sits higher

Post by Project_Legacy »

after i did my swap a little while back, the front end of my car sits higher than the rear. it looks a little awkward. would i be able to put some front lowering springs on and keep the rear as stock? how would the car handle?? also, my car has about 250k miles on it and i believe the suspension has never been replaced. would it be a good time to maybe re-do the struts and springs? the ride is terrible, and there is so much body roll... if anyone can help me out let me know! thanks!

o yea, if i was to re-do all the suspension, would i have to get different spring rates for the front and rear since the front sits higher at stock? im still new to suspension bits... any info would help!
00 5MT AWD 2.5 RS - New Project
rallysam
Fourth Gear

Post by rallysam »

Just out of curiosity, Why does the front sit higher now? You started with an NA engine, and swapped in a turbo engine, and it's a lot lighter???
'00 Impr RS - sold
'91 Legacy Turbo 5MT - mothballed
13psi, TurboXS TBE, WRX IC, Hallman MBC, TurboXS FCD, KYB AGX, Phil's STI seat, SPT short shifter, David Carter hood, Zeitronix widebandO2, Kuhmo rally tires, STI IC spray, thanks:gearboxtech.com
Yukonart
Cradle Robber
Cradle Robber

Post by Yukonart »

Maybe you mounted the engine upsidedown? :lol:
"Power is NOTHING without control"
1994 & 2005 Legacy GT Wagons
Project_Legacy
Third Gear

Post by Project_Legacy »

lol. well ok this is the thing.

i swapped in my hybrid motor JDM ej20g block with USDM ej22t heads and intake manifold. im thinking this combo weighs less than a stock ej22e??

and no i did not mount it upside down. :lol:

my suspension is pretty old too. but i didnt change any of that during the swap... didnt even touch any of it.
A_DuB
First Gear

Post by A_DuB »