Looking into getting a Subaru..

Heads, valves, pistons, rods, crankshaft, etc...

Moderators: Helpinators, Moderators

John1
In Neutral

Looking into getting a Subaru..

Post by John1 »

Hello everyone, my name is John.
I am new to the Subaru world, but not entirely to cars.
I am a half decent mechanic, having owned a few Volvo 850 turbo's in the past 3 years.
They are nice, quick, and comfortable, but as far as reliability, I might as well had just bought a Chrysler product..

So I found a few Legacy's and a few Impreza's, but my only concern is:
How can I tell if it is AWD from engine pictures when it has a longitudinally mounted FWD set up as well?
I would hate to go check out a car and get someone's hopes up, just to find out that they thought it was AWD just because it is a Subaru.

I know that is probably a complete Subaru n00b question, but that is exactly what I am, haha.
I am going to be selling my Volvo, but I would like to obtain a cheap AWD Subaru so I can park my Volvo and sell it.

I live in PA, around 15 minutes from the border of New Jersey.
Around the Allentown, Bethlehem, Easton area (if anyone here has heard of that).
And if there is an AWD Subaru for a few hundred, that doesn't need too much work, that I have missed please PM me.

This seems like a great forum, filled with a great group of enthusiasts.
I absolutely hate going onto a forum filled with pompous a-holes, and it looks like this board has none.

Thanks everyone, and I hope to hear from you shortly.

John
I want an AWD Subaru in the worst way.
ericem
Fifth Gear

Post by ericem »

Hello welcome!!

To verify if a Subaru is AWD when you go look at one just stick your head under the rear and look for a differential, driveshaft, and axles :) That simple!

Keep your eyes open on craiglist, and kijiji. Be sure to read around with common issues to look out for.

To name a few torque bind (mostly on auto cars where the awd is always engaged and will bind when turning not very common)