Clutch issues after engine swap

Flywheel, Clutch, Transmission, Axles, etc...

Moderators: Helpinators, Moderators

96Impreza
In Neutral

Clutch issues after engine swap

Post by 96Impreza »

Hey guys, you were so helpful with my last clutch issue (that really wasnt, and was posted under another account) that I've come back for more.

A little background:
Had/have a '91 Legacy FWD 5spd with EJ22 that I had done the clutch in about 3k miles ago. She was pretty beat, but ran and drove solid. I picked up a cheap 96 Impreza Outback Sport AWD 5spd with a EJ18 in it and a bad clutch (and from the gobs of oil everywhere, probably a bad rear main seal). I decided to swap my EJ22 with recent clutch into the Impreza. I'll spare you story of my trouble, but as it sits now, the EJ22 is running great in it. However, I cannot seem to adjust the clutch (Cable type) in a way that works.

The issue:
I am relatively new to the mechanical world, with only a few smaller projects (water pump, and a clutch) and this has been my biggest project. However, what seems to be my issue is that no matter my adjustment of the cable, the throwout bearing is still riding the pressure plate and resulting in the car not moving more than a few inches before it starts slipping hard. I pulled the engine and double checked everything, remembered that I had not installed the repair sleeve from when I did the clutch job on the 91 (still installed on the block I dropped into this 96-- didn't touch any of that). So I moved the repair sleeve over and redid the throwout bearing clips because one was hanging partially off. Reinstalled the engine and had the same slipping issue.